Can You Do the Bone Broth Diet if You’re a Vegetarian? You Bet
- Let’s start with the broth. Obviously, you can’t make bone broth without bones! But that’s fine, because you can substitute a rich vegetable broth. If you’re a pescetarian—that is, you eat fish—you can also make a lovely, subtle broth out of fish bones. Just be sure to use a non-oily fish like halibut or tilapia, rather than an oily fish like salmon. Also, cook your broth for only a couple of hours, because fish bones dissolve quickly.
- If you’re a vegetarian, make eggs a big part of your diet. (Remember: Science has shown that eating eggs isn’t bad for your cholesterol.) In addition, you can stretch the basic diet template to include beans and lentils, edamame, full-fat pasture-raised kefir and yogurt, natto, and tempeh. High-quality vegetarian protein mixes, such as hemp or pea protein, are also acceptable as part of the vegetarian protocol.
- Avoid veggie chicken wings, soy milk, tofu hot dogs, and related foods. I call these “Frankenfoods” because they’re loaded with unhealthy ingredients.
It may take a little longer to lose your extra pounds when you substitute beans, lentils, and other high-carb foods for animal proteins—but you’ll still see amazing results. And even without the collagen building blocks from bone broth, you’ll blast your wrinkles with skin-smoothing foods like coconut and avocado. At the end of 21 days, you’ll be slimmer, look younger, and feel more energetic, without having to compromise on your dietary principles. So join the Bone Broth Revolution—and fly your vegetarian, vegan, or pescetarian flag proudly!
Keep Thinking Big & Living Bold!